Smoke in the Pit BBQ

Smoke in the Pit - Storefront

Storefront for Smoke in the Pit

So when I get a hankering for BBQ generally I head to Big Daddy’s on University Ave in St. Paul, but not on this lucky day.  I ID’ed this hole in the wall called Smoke in the Pit located in the Powderhorn neighborhood of Minneapolis.  The Pit is Take-Out only which works perfectly for me.  I call and speak with the owner, Dwight Alexander, to place my order and a pick up time.  It goes like this, “I will take a full rack of the Spare Slab Ribs, one pound of Beef Brisket, two dozen whole Smoked Wings and a pint of Mac & Cheese. Can I pick it up sometime around 1:30 pm?”  Easy as that! Smoke in the Pit is a small, family owned gem, Dwight and his help are about as friendly as your next door neighbor (a neighbor who smokes their own meat and lets you take some home with you).  When asked about the number of spoons and knives I required, I answered none it’s all for me and here’s what I was in for.  The Spare Ribs are smoked to perfection, larger and meatier than Baby Back Ribs they require a longer cooking time to become tender and it is well worth the wait.  The brisket was tender and lean and the M&C was slightly peppered which I appreciated.  The real winner people “Thanks Garth” is the smoked, not fried, whole chicken wings, tender, moist and booming with flavor.  I devoured this BBQ over a three day period and plan a return visit this week to compliment the turkey on Thanksgiving.  If you appreciate great BBQ, Smoke in the Pit is worth a visit and then repeat often.

Smoke in the Pit | 3733 Chicago Avenue S, Minneapolis, MN 55407  |  Menu

Bill’s Beverage of the Month

Snaggle Tooth Bandana

Snaggletooth Bandana

Solemn Oath Brewery, Naperville, IL |  Snaggletooth Bandana | 6.5% ABV | 85 IBUs | American IPA 

Solid, very hoppy IPA from a well established Midwest brewery. Notes from the Brewery: “Massive grapefruit pineapple, and super-ripe mango aromatics burst out of this medium-bodied IPA. Assertive bitterness is balanced by a subtle malt sweetness and more citrusy fun.”

Leave a Reply

